---
title: "Mini Composition Books: Size, Pages & Ruling"
canonical: "https://stationerytimes.com/guides/mini-composition-books/"
description: "What a mini composition book is, its exact size (4.5 × 3.25 in), page count, ruling options, best uses, and how it compares to a pocket memo book."
category: "Notebooks"
type: "Composition notebook"
published: 2026-10-20
updated: 2026-10-20
author: "Ellis Penhale"
publisher: "Stationery Times"
sources: 13
products:
  - name: "Mead Mini Composition Book (4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 sheets)"
    brand: "Mead"
    brand_origin: "United States"
    made_in: "Not stated"
    material: "Marbled board cover, cloth-tape spine"
    price_band: "$ (under $5 per notebook, typical US retail, October 2026)"
    manufacturer: "ACCO Brands Corporation"
---

# Mini Composition Books: Size, Pages & Ruling

> A mini composition book is a pocket-size version of the classic marbled school notebook. The common size is 4.5 × 3.25 inches (about 11.4 × 8.3 cm), usually with 80 ruled sheets (160 pages), and it's typically sold in 2- or 3-packs. Ruling is often narrow or college ruled.

- URL: https://stationerytimes.com/guides/mini-composition-books/
- Category: Notebooks
- Author: Ellis Penhale
- Published: 2026-10-20
- Updated: 2026-10-20

![Drawing of three mini composition books with black-and-white marble covers, black tape spines and name labels, each 4.5 × 3.25 in (114 × 83 mm), beside one opened flat to show 1/4 in narrow ruling](https://stationerytimes.com/images/raster/mini-composition-books-16x9.png)

*Three minis at 4.5 × 3.25 in, and one opened to narrow ruling (1 mm = 1.3 px).* Original drawing (SVG): https://stationerytimes.com/images/mini-composition-books-cover.svg. Drawings © 2026 Stationery Times, reusable with credit under CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).

## Product facts

| Product | Brand | Brand origin | Made in | Material | Released | Price range (typical US retail, October 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mead Mini Composition Book (4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 sheets) | Mead (by ACCO Brands Corporation) | United States | Not stated | Marbled board cover, cloth-tape spine | – | $: under $5 per notebook |

- Made in (Mead Mini Composition Book (4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 sheets)): Not stated. Neither Mead's site nor the retail listings we checked state it. Distributors list full-size Mead composition books as made in Vietnam (09910) or China (09932), and Hannaford lists a Top Flight mini as made in Vietnam, so check the pack.

## Key takeaways

- Standard mini size: 4.5 × 3.25 in (11.4 × 8.3 cm), about one-fifth the page area of a full-size 9.75 × 7.5 in composition book.
- Typical page count: 80 sheets / 160 pages (Mead, Pen+Gear and Staples minis all list 80 sheets).
- Ruling varies by brand: Mead's mini is narrow ruled (1/4 in), Staples' is college ruled (9/32 in).
- Compared with a 3.5 × 5.5 in, 48-page pocket memo book, a mini comp book is smaller but has more than three times as many pages.
- Best for quick lists, pocket journaling, kids' notes and party favors; less ideal for fountain pens or heavy markers on thin paper.

## What is a mini composition book?

**A mini composition book is a scaled-down version of the classic composition notebook**: the one with the black-and-white marbled cover, stiff boards and a cloth-tape spine. It keeps the look and the ruled pages, but shrinks to a size that fits in a pocket.

People buy them for the same reason they buy any pocket notebook: to have paper on hand all the time. The familiar marbled design and low price also make them a popular classroom reward and party favor.

![Illustration of a mini composition book with a marbled black-and-white cover, measuring 3.25 inches (8.3 cm) wide by 4.5 inches (11.4 cm) tall](https://stationerytimes.com/images/mini-composition-book.svg)

*A mini composition book: 3.25 × 4.5 in (8.3 × 11.4 cm), with the classic marbled cover, cloth spine and name label.*

## How big is a mini composition book?

**The standard mini composition book measures 4.5 × 3.25 inches (about 11.4 × 8.3 cm)**, held in portrait orientation. Mead, Pen+Gear and Staples all list their minis at this size.

| Notebook | Size (in) | Size (cm) | Page area | Typical pages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mini composition book | 4.5 × 3.25 | 11.4 × 8.3 | 14.6 sq in | 80 sheets / 160 pages |
| Pocket memo book (e.g. Field Notes) | 5.5 × 3.5 | 14.0 × 8.9 | 19.3 sq in | 48 pages |
| Full-size composition book | 9.75 × 7.5 | 24.8 × 19.1 | 73.1 sq in | 80–100 sheets |

![To-scale drawing comparing a full-size composition book (9.75 × 7.5 in), a pocket memo book (5.5 × 3.5 in) and a mini composition book (4.5 × 3.25 in) on a one-inch grid](https://stationerytimes.com/images/size-comparison.svg)

*Drawn to scale on a 1-inch grid. The mini has about one-fifth the page area of a full-size composition book.*

A mini page has roughly one-fifth the writing area of a full-size composition book page (see our [Mead Composition Notebook](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/mead-composition-notebook/) guide for the full-size version). That's plenty for a list or a few lines of notes, but too small for long-form writing.

## How many pages does a mini composition book have?

**Most mini composition books have 80 sheets, or 160 pages counting front and back.** That's the count listed for the Mead, Pen+Gear and Staples minis. It's the same number of sheets as many full-size composition books, so a mini lasts surprisingly long for its size.

They're usually sold in **2-packs or 3-packs**, and bulk packs of 30 or more are common for classrooms and party favors.

## What ruling do mini composition books come in?

**Mini composition books come narrow ruled or college ruled, depending on the brand.** Ruling is the spacing between the printed lines:

| Ruling | Line spacing | Metric | Example mini |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wide ruled | 11/32 in | 8.7 mm | Less common on minis |
| College ruled | 9/32 in | 7.1 mm | Staples mini composition notebook |
| Narrow ruled | 1/4 in | 6.4 mm | Mead mini composition book |

![Three ruled paper swatches drawn to scale: wide ruled at 11/32 inch, college ruled at 9/32 inch and narrow ruled at 1/4 inch line spacing](https://stationerytimes.com/images/ruling-comparison.svg)

*The same 1.5-inch strip of paper with wide, college and narrow ruling, drawn to scale.*

On a page this small, **narrow or college ruling is the better choice**: you fit more lines per page. Wide ruling suits young children with larger handwriting.

## What paper and pens work best?

**Pencils, ballpoints and fine gel pens work best, because composition books use lightweight paper.** As a reference point, one full-size Roaring Spring composition book lists 15 lb (56 g/m²) paper, well below the 80–100 g/m² of premium journals.

What that means in practice:

- **Best:** pencil, ballpoint, fine gel pens such as the [Pilot G2](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pilot-g2/), [Pentel EnerGel](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/pentel-energel/) or [Sharpie S-Gel](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/sharpie-s-gel/) in 0.38–0.5 mm.
- **Usually fine:** fine-tip felt pens; expect some show-through.
- **Risky:** fountain pens with wet nibs, brush pens, alcohol markers, as these are likely to bleed through.


## What are mini composition books good for?

- **Grocery and to-do lists:** small enough to live in a pocket or bag permanently.
- **Pocket journal or daily log:** one page a day fits a few lines.
- **Travel notes:** addresses, train times, places to try.
- **Kids:** spelling words, lunchbox notes, a first diary.
- **Classroom rewards and party favors:** cheap in bulk, and instantly recognizable.
- **Junk journaling and art:** the covers are easy to decorate with stickers or paint.
- **Field notes:** bird sightings, garden logs, mileage.

## Which brands make mini composition books?

**At least seven brands sell a 4.5 × 3.25 in mini composition book with 80 sheets: BAZIC, Mead, Top Flight, Pen+Gear, Staples, Office Depot and Feela.** They differ mainly in ruling, cover style and pack size. Links go to the maker's own page where we found one; store brands link to the store that makes them.

| Brand | Size | Sheets | Ruling | Pack | Product page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BAZIC | 4.5 × 3.25 in | 80 | Narrow (maker page); wide (BAZIC store) | 2 | [BAZIC Mini Marble (5054)](https://bazicproducts.com/products/composition-book-mini-marble-4-5-x-3-25-80-ct-5054) |
| Mead | 4.5 × 3.25 in | 80 | Narrow | 3 | [Mead Mini Fashion (Walmart)](https://www.walmart.com/ip/MEAD-SMALL-COMPOSITION-BOOKS-ANIMALS-3-PACK/15039950459) |
| Top Flight | 4.5 × 3.25 in | 80 | Narrow | 1 or 3 | [Top Flight Mini (Kroger)](https://www.kroger.com/p/top-flight-mini-composition-books/0007575506351) |
| Pen+Gear (Walmart) | 3.25 × 4.5 in | 80 | Ruled | 3 | [Walmart mini composition books](https://www.walmart.com/c/kp/mini-composition-notebook) |
| Staples | 3.25 × 4.5 in | 80 | College | 2 | [Staples mini composition (658961)](https://www.staples.com/zq9zq9Notebooks/cat_CL165557/64aad-o4s1q-7hjhq-6y4a3) |
| Office Depot | 3.25 × 4.5 in | 80 | Narrow | 4 | [Office Depot Mini Marble (323629)](https://www.officedepot.com/a/products/323629/Office-Depot-Brand-Mini-Marble-Composition/) |
| Feela | 4.5 × 3.25 in | 80 | Narrow | 30 | [Feela on Walmart](https://www.walmart.com/c/brand/feela) |

Mead's own site doesn't list the mini composition book. It does list the [Mead Square Deal Memo Book (45421)](https://www.mead.com/p/notebooks/school-notebooks/composition-notebooks/square-deal-memo-book-narrow-ruled-black-45421/), a marble-cover book in the same 4.5 × 3.25 in size with 80 narrow-ruled sheets. A grocery listing gives Vietnam as the country of manufacture for one Top Flight mini.

Pack sizes and cover colors change often, so check the listing before you buy. For classrooms and party favors, the Feela 30-packs and BAZIC's 24-pack boxes are the bulk options.

## How to choose a mini composition book

Check these five things on the listing before you buy:

1. **Size:** confirm 4.5 × 3.25 in if you want the classic mini; "pocket" notebooks are often larger.
2. **Sheet count:** 80 sheets is standard; fewer usually means a thinner, cheaper book.
3. **Ruling:** narrow or college for adults; wide for young kids.
4. **Pack size:** 2–3 for personal use, bulk packs for classrooms and favors.
5. **Your pens:** if you use fountain pens or markers, a mini with thicker paper (or a different notebook) will serve you better.

## Where are mini composition books made?

**Most mini listings, including Mead's own page for the Square Deal Memo Book, don't state a country of manufacture.** The exception we found is Hannaford's listing for a Top Flight mini, which says made in Vietnam. Distributors list Mead's full-size composition books as made in Vietnam or China depending on the item (see our [Mead Composition Notebook](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/mead-composition-notebook/) guide), so the minis may vary too.

Walmart's Pen+Gear listing and Staples' own listing don't state an origin either. Check the country printed on the pack or the back cover.

## Mini composition book vs. pocket memo book

Both fit in a pocket, but they serve different needs:

- **Choose a mini composition book** if you want the most pages for the price, a sturdier marbled-board cover and the classic look.
- **Choose a pocket memo book (3.5 × 5.5 in)** if you want a slightly larger page, a thinner and flatter book (48 pages, staple-bound), and more choice of paper (graph, dot-grid, plain).
- **Choose a [Moleskine Classic Pocket](https://stationerytimes.com/guides/moleskine-classic-notebook/) (9 × 14 cm)** if you want a hard cover, an elastic closure and 192 pages in a similar pocket size.

## Frequently asked questions

### What size is a mini composition book?

The common size is 4.5 × 3.25 inches (about 11.4 × 8.3 cm), in portrait orientation. That's the size listed for Mead, Pen+Gear and Staples mini composition books.

### How many pages are in a mini composition book?

Most have 80 sheets, which is 160 pages counting both sides. Always check the listing, since sheet counts can vary between brands and special editions.

### Is a mini composition book wide ruled or college ruled?

It depends on the brand. Mead's mini composition books are narrow ruled (1/4 inch spacing) and Staples sells a college-ruled (9/32 inch) mini. Narrow ruling fits more lines on the small page.

### Will a mini composition book fit in my pocket?

At 4.5 × 3.25 inches it fits most back pockets, shirt pockets and small bags. It's slightly smaller than a 3.5 × 5.5 inch pocket memo book.

### What is the difference between a mini composition book and a memo book?

A mini composition book is 4.5 × 3.25 inches with about 80 sheets, and usually has a marbled cover. A typical pocket memo book (like Field Notes) is 3.5 × 5.5 inches with 48 pages and is staple-bound.

### Can you use fountain pens in a mini composition book?

You can, but expect some show-through or bleed. Composition books generally use lightweight paper, so a fine nib and a well-behaved ink work best. Ballpoints, gel pens and pencils are the safest choices.

### What can I use a mini composition book for?

Popular uses include grocery and to-do lists, a pocket journal, travel logs, kids' lunchbox or spelling notes, field notes, junk journaling and party or classroom favors.

## Sources

- [BAZIC: Composition Book Mini Marble 4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 ct, 2-pack (SKU 5054)](https://bazicproducts.com/products/composition-book-mini-marble-4-5-x-3-25-80-ct-5054)
- [BAZIC store: Mini Marble Composition Notebook (lists wide ruling)](https://bazicstore.com/products/composition-book-mini-marble-4-5-x-3-25-80-ct-5054)
- [Mead: Square Deal Memo Book, narrow ruled, 80 sheets, sewn, 4.5 × 3.25 in (45421)](https://www.mead.com/p/notebooks/school-notebooks/composition-notebooks/square-deal-memo-book-narrow-ruled-black-45421/)
- [Walmart: Mead Mini Fashion Composition Book, narrow ruled, 80 sheets, 4.5 × 3.25 in, 3-pack](https://www.walmart.com/ip/MEAD-SMALL-COMPOSITION-BOOKS-ANIMALS-3-PACK/15039950459)
- [Kroger: Top Flight Mini Composition Books, 3-pack, sewn](https://www.kroger.com/p/top-flight-mini-composition-books/0007575506351)
- [Hannaford: Top Flight mini composition book (4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 sheets, narrow rule, made in Vietnam)](https://hannaford.com/groceries/product/top-flight-composition-book-80-sheets-1-ea/406235)
- [Office Depot: Office Depot Brand Mini Marble Composition Books, 3¼ × 4½ in, narrow ruled, 80 sheets, pack of 4](https://www.officedepot.com/a/products/323629/Office-Depot-Brand-Mini-Marble-Composition/)
- [Walmart: Feela mini composition notebooks, 4.5 × 3.25 in, narrow ruled, 30-packs](https://www.walmart.com/c/brand/feela)
- [Walmart: Mini composition notebook listings (Mead Mini Fashion 3-pack, Pen+Gear 3-pack, 4.5 × 3.25 in, 80 sheets)](https://www.walmart.com/c/kp/mini-composition-notebook)
- [Staples: Sewn composition notebooks, including a 4.5 × 3.25 in college-ruled mini, 80 sheets](https://www.staples.com/zq9zq9Notebooks/cat_CL165557/64aad-o4s1q-7hjhq-6y4a3)
- [Wikipedia: Ruled paper (US wide, college and narrow line spacing)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ruled_paper)
- [Gateway: Roaring Spring full-size composition book spec (9 3/4 × 7 1/2 in, 80 sheets, 15 lb / 56 g/m² paper)](https://www.gatewayp.com/roaring-spring-composition-book-80-sheets-160-pages-printed-sewn-tapebound-both-side-ruling-surface-red-margin-15-lb-basis-weight-56-g-m-and-178-grammage-9-3-4-x-7-1-2-0-33-x-7-5--3)
- [JetPens: Field Notes Original Kraft Memo Books (3.5 × 5.5 in, 48 pages)](https://www.jetpens.com/Field-Notes-Original-Kraft-Memo-Books-3.5-x-5.5-48-Pages-Graph-Pack-of-3/pd/7453)
