Best Planners for 2027: Hobonichi, Day Designer & More
On published specs, the Hobonichi Techo Cousin is the best planner for 2027: one A5 book with monthly, vertical weekly and 377 daily pages on Tomoe River S paper. Pick the Day Designer for hourly daily planning, the Erin Condren LifePlanner for a weekly, the Passion Planner for goals, the Hobonichi Weeks to carry and Blue Sky for a budget.
On this page
Products compared
| Product | Brand origin | Made in | Price range |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January startHobonichi | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$ |
| Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner, Original size (flagship, January–December 2027)Day Designer | United States | Not stated* | Price range: $$$ |
| Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, 7 × 9 in (vertical, horizontal or hourly)Erin Condren | United States | United States* | Price range: $$$ |
| Passion Planner Weekly (Small, Medium or Large; dated or undated)Passion Planner | United States | China* | Price range: $$$ |
| Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers)Hobonichi | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$ |
| Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start)Hobonichi | Japan | Not stated* | Price range: $$$ |
| Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner, 5 × 8 in, Black (160973)Blue Sky | United States | Not stated* | Price range: $$ |
| Leuchtturm1917 2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5), hardcover (lined or dotted notes page)Leuchtturm1917 | Germany | Not stated* | Price range: $$$ |
| Moleskine Classic 12-Month Weekly Planner 2027, Large (Weekly Notebook layout; hard or soft cover)Moleskine | Italy | China* | Price range: $$$ |
| Clever Fox Planner PRO, undated weekly & monthly planner, 8.5 × 11 inClever Fox | Latvia | Not stated* | Price range: $$$ |
| KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 SlimKOKUYO | Japan | Japan* | Price range: $$$ |
Notes on these facts
- Hobonichi Techo Cousin Book 2027, A5, English, January start: Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Made in Japan: per Boston General Store's 2027 Cousin listing, which files it in its Made in Japan collection. Hobonichi's Japanese store page for the 2027 English Cousin gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China). Source. Price: example listing.
- Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner, Original size (flagship, January–December 2027): Made by Day Designer (founded by Whitney English). Country of manufacture not stated: Day Designer's 2027 listing says each planner is carefully crafted by hand but doesn't state where the flagship planners are made. Its UPCs share the 699931 company prefix used on Blue Sky products, its retail partner. Catalog listings for the separate Day Designer for Blue Sky line give China or Vietnam depending on the edition. Source. Price: example listing.
- Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, 7 × 9 in (vertical, horizontal or hourly): Made by Erin Condren Design. Made in United States: Erin Condren's Collage LifePlanner product page says "Made in The USA: our planners are made right here at home". Its LifePlanner landing page says "Designed in the USA" instead, and some Amazon and retailer listings don't state an origin; note that Erin Condren's sticker books are labelled "Imported". Source. Price: example listing. Released: Northern Virginia Magazine (June 12, 2019) says Erin Condren launched the first LifePlanner in 2007. Erin Condren's own story page dates the company to 2005 and doesn't give the LifePlanner's year.
- Passion Planner Weekly (Small, Medium or Large; dated or undated): Made in China: Passion Planner's own store data tags every weekly and daily planner it sells (2026, 2027, mid-year and undated) with the country-of-origin code coo_china. The product pages don't print a 'made in' line, so check the label on the planner. Brand origin: founder Angelia Trinidad started the company in California. Source. Price: example listing. Released: Passion Planner's own story page says the first Passion Planner launched on Kickstarter in October 2013. The current undated weekly design is listed as released in 2025.
- Hobonichi Techo Weeks 2027, English, January start (White Line: Black and other covers): Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Made in Japan: per retailer spec sheets for the 2027 Weeks (Sortdays and Milligram). Hobonichi's Japanese store page for White Line: Black gives size, weight, pages and materials but no country of manufacture. Source. Price: example listing.
- Hobonichi Techo Original Book, A6, 2027 (English or Japanese; January or April start): Made by Hobonichi Co., Ltd. (Tokyo). Country of manufacture not stated: Hobonichi's Japanese store listing for the 2027 English Original gives size, weight, pages and paper but no country of manufacture (it names one only for a free charm, made in China), and we found no retailer spec sheet that states it for the Original Book. Hunter Paper Co. says its Original Avec book is made in Japan by Hobonichi, but that is a different product. Check the back of the book. Price: example listing. Released: Hobonichi's history page gives October 5, 2001 as the release date of the first edition, the 2002 Techo.
- Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner, 5 × 8 in, Black (160973): Made by Blue Sky The Color of Imagination, LLC. Country of manufacture not stated: Staples' listing for item 160973 doesn't state a country of manufacture, and Blue Sky's own store page for the matching Enterprise 5 × 8 weekly doesn't either. Reseller listings for older Blue Sky planners give China, but that doesn't confirm this 2027 model, so check the label. Price: example listing.
- Leuchtturm1917 2027 Weekly Planner & Notebook, Medium (A5), hardcover (lined or dotted notes page): Made by LEUCHTTURM1917 GmbH (Geesthacht, Germany). Country of manufacture not stated: Neither Leuchtturm1917's German product page, which names only the maker, LEUCHTTURM1917 GmbH in Geesthacht, nor the US and Australian retailer listings we read state where the 2027 planners are made, so check the label on your copy. Price: example listing.
- Moleskine Classic 12-Month Weekly Planner 2027, Large (Weekly Notebook layout; hard or soft cover): Made by Moleskine S.r.l. (D'Ieteren Group). Made in China: per John Lewis's spec table for the 2027 12-month weekly planner (Sage hard cover). Moleskine's Italian and US product pages don't state the country, and Harry Hartog says only "Designed in Italy", so check the label on your copy. Source. Price: example listing.
- Clever Fox Planner PRO, undated weekly & monthly planner, 8.5 × 11 in: Made by SV Digital, LLC (Clever Fox), Riga, Latvia. Country of manufacture not stated: Clever Fox's own store and the Amazon, Walmart and eBay listings we found give no country of manufacture; Clever Fox says only that every print run is checked. Check the label on the back of the planner. Brand origin: Clever Fox's store terms name SV Digital, LLC, registered at Gustava Zemgala gatve 74, Riga, Latvia, under Latvian law and with a Latvian VAT number; its Faire wholesale profile lists Stockton, California, and its US orders ship from Amazon fulfillment centers. Source. Price: example listing.
- KOKUYO Jibun Techo First Kit 2027 (DIARY + LIFE + IDEA), A5 Slim: Made by KOKUYO Co., Ltd.. Made in Japan: KOKUYO's global online store gives Country of Origin: Japan for the 2027 First Kit and the 2027 DIARY and Biz; The Journal Shop and Nomado also say Japan. KOKUYO's Japanese product page doesn't list the field. Source. Price: example listing. Released: Impress Watch (July 2019) says the Jibun Techo has been sold since 2013; other Japanese articles give 2011 or 2012 for its first appearance. The 2027 edition went on sale from mid-September 2026, per KOKUYO's August 7, 2026 press release.
- Price bands are typical US retail, checked October 2026. Conversions to US dollars are approximate, at October 2026 rates (US$1 = ¥158 = ₩1,330 = NT$32.5 = CN¥6.7 = SEK 9.9 = DKK 6.7 = ₺49.6 = C$1.41 = A$1.43 = CZK 21.7; €1 = US$1.12; £1 = US$1.32; CHF 1 = US$1.21).
Key takeaways
- The Hobonichi Cousin packs 544 pages into an A5 book of about 445 g, per Hobonichi: monthly, vertical weekly and daily pages for 2027.
- Sizes run from the 186 × 95 mm Hobonichi Weeks (about 133 g) to the Day Designer at 9 × 9.75 in including its binding (2.6 lb).
- Paper weights published by the makers range from Moleskine's 70 g/m² to the Passion Planner's 120 gsm; Hobonichi uses thin Tomoe River S.
- Start dates differ: the Hobonichi Weeks begins November 30, 2026, the Blue Sky planner adds October to December 2026, and Moleskine's 18-month book starts in July 2026.
- Every planner here is in our $$$ band ($20–75) except the Blue Sky 5 × 8 in weekly, which Staples sells in our $$ band ($5–20).
What is the best planner for 2027?
The Hobonichi Techo Cousin is the best 2027 planner for most people, but the best pick for daily scheduling, weekly planning, goals, carrying, fountain pens or a small budget is a different book. Picks are based on published specs and maker claims; we haven’t tested them yet.
- Best overall: Hobonichi Techo Cousin 2027. One A5 book holds monthly calendars, 106 vertical weekly pages and 377 daily pages, 544 pages in all, on Tomoe River S paper.
- Best daily: Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner. A page per day with hourly lines from 5 am to 9 pm, a top-three box and a to-do list, on 100 gsm paper.
- Best weekly: Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner. A 7 × 9 in coiled weekly in vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard layouts on 80 lb paper, and Erin Condren says it is made in the USA.
- Best for goal-setting: Passion Planner. It opens with the Passion Roadmap goal exercise, ends each month with a reflection and splits days into half-hour blocks, on 120 gsm paper.
- Most compact: Hobonichi Weeks. A wallet-size weekly, 186 × 95 × 11 mm and about 133 g, with a grid page beside each week and 75 grid memo pages.
- Best for fountain pens: Hobonichi Techo Original. Its A6 daily pages use the same Tomoe River S as the Cousin, which Wirecutter says resists bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens, in a 195 g book.
- Budget: Blue Sky 2027 Weekly & Monthly Planner (160973). A 5 × 8 in weekly that Staples sells in our $$ band ($5–20), with three bonus months from October 2026.
KOKUYO’s Jibun Techo, with its 24-hour vertical week, is the pick for time-blocking. For dated diaries and their 2027 sale dates, see our best 2027 journals.
How do the 2027 planners compare?
The picks split into daily books, weeklies and one hybrid, the Cousin; all but the Blue Sky sit in our $$$ band.
| Planner | Layout | Size | Paper | Dated | Band |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hobonichi Cousin | Monthly, weekly vertical, daily | 148 × 210 mm (A5), 445 g | Tomoe River S | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Day Designer daily | Daily, hourly 5 am–9 pm | 9 × 9.75 in with binding, 2.6 lb | 100 gsm | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Erin Condren LifePlanner | Weekly: vertical, horizontal, hourly, dashboard | 7 × 9 in | 80 lb | 12 or 18 months | $$$ |
| Passion Planner | Weekly, half-hour blocks | Small 148 × 210 mm to Large 7.8 × 11 in | 120 gsm | Dated or undated | $$$ |
| Hobonichi Weeks | Week + grid page | 186 × 95 mm, 133 g | Tomoe River S | Nov 30, 2026–Jan 2, 2028 | $$$ |
| Hobonichi Original | Daily | 148 × 105 mm (A6), 195 g | Tomoe River S | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Blue Sky 160973 | Weekly + monthly | 5 × 8 in | Not stated | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$ |
| Leuchtturm1917 Weekly & Notebook | Week + notes page | 145 × 210 mm | 80 g/m² | Jan–Dec 2027 | $$$ |
| Moleskine Weekly, Large | Week + ruled page | 130 × 210 mm | 70 g/m² | 12 or 18 months | $$$ |
| Clever Fox PRO | Monthly + weekly | 8.5 × 11 in | 120 gsm | Undated | $$$ |
| Jibun Techo First Kit | Monthly, 24-hour weekly vertical | 136 × 217 mm (A5 Slim) | THIN PAPER | Nov 2026 start | $$$ |
Figures are from the makers except the Blue Sky’s, from Staples. Hobonichi lists the Cousin at ¥4,620 (about US$29) and the Original at ¥2,860 (about US$18) in Japan; US shops charge more.
Should you choose a daily or a weekly planner?
Choose a daily if you schedule by the hour or like to write as you plan; choose a weekly if you want the whole week in view and a lighter book. The trade-off is bulk: the Day Designer weighs 2.6 lb, while the Hobonichi Weeks weighs about 133 g.
The Cousin sits in between, with both views in one A5 book. Wirecutter, which recommends the Day Designer for packed agendas, also calls it very bulky and its pages hard to turn.
Which planner is best for goal-setting?
The Passion Planner is built around goals: a Passion Roadmap exercise at the front, and monthly reflection pages. It comes dated or undated, in three sizes with 221 pages each.
The Clever Fox Planner PRO is the undated, letter-size alternative, with vision and goal pages ahead of 12 monthly and 52 weekly spreads. Both use 120 gsm paper, per their makers and reviewers.
Which 2027 planner is best for fountain pens?
A Hobonichi Techo: its Tomoe River S paper takes fountain-pen ink well, though writing shows through the thin pages. Wirecutter describes Tomoe River as resisting bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens.
Among Western planners, the Leuchtturm1917’s 80 g/m² paper is heavier than Moleskine’s 70 g/m², and reviewers report bleed-through on Moleskine paper with wet inks.
What do other reviewers recommend?
Wirecutter’s July 2026 update picks only one of our planners, the Erin Condren LifePlanner, and favors modular systems.
- It names the LifePlanner its best highly decorated option, citing the 7 × 9 in page and the choice of vertical, horizontal or hourly layouts.
- Its other picks include the Muji Recycled Paper Weekly Planner as the cheapest and the Traveler’s Notebook as the compact, modular choice.
- It says the Hobonichi Original and Cousin fared well in testing but are left out of the top picks because of limited availability.
- Testers found the Passion Planner cramped, and the regular-size Moleskine and the Leuchtturm1917 Week Planner short of daily writing room.
Where are these planners made?
Erin Condren says its LifePlanner is made in the USA; KOKUYO gives Japan for the Jibun Techo, and retailers list the Hobonichi Weeks and Cousin as made in Japan. Passion Planner’s store data tags its planners as made in China, and John Lewis lists Moleskine’s 2027 planners as made in China. Day Designer, Clever Fox, Leuchtturm1917, Blue Sky and Hobonichi (for the Original) don’t state it.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best daily planner for 2027?
The Day Designer 2027 Daily Planner if you work at a desk: a page per day with hourly lines from 5 am to 9 pm and a top-three box on 100 gsm paper. To carry one, the A6 Hobonichi Techo Original gives a page per day in a 195 g book.
What is the best weekly planner for 2027?
The Erin Condren Coiled LifePlanner, a 7 × 9 in dated weekly with vertical, horizontal, hourly or dashboard layouts on 80 lb paper. If you want a notes page beside each week, the Leuchtturm1917 Weekly Planner & Notebook pairs the week with a ruled or dotted page.
Which planner is best for goal-setting?
The Passion Planner, which opens with a goal-mapping Passion Roadmap and ends each month with a reflection page. The undated Clever Fox Planner PRO is a letter-size alternative with goal and vision pages.
Which 2027 planner is best for fountain pens?
A Hobonichi Techo, whose Tomoe River S paper takes fountain-pen ink well though writing shows through. Wirecutter notes that Tomoe River resists bleeding and feathering even from fountain pens. We haven't tested the 2027 books ourselves.
What is a good cheap planner for 2027?
A Blue Sky 5 × 8 in weekly and monthly planner, such as item 160973, sold by Staples in our $$ band ($5–20). It runs January to December 2027 with three bonus months from October 2026.
Should I get a daily or weekly planner?
Get a daily planner if you schedule by the hour or journal as you plan; get a weekly if you want to see the whole week at once and carry less. Daily books are thicker: the Day Designer weighs 2.6 lb, per Day Designer.
When do 2027 planners start?
Most run January to December 2027, but many start early: the Hobonichi Weeks begins November 30, 2026, KOKUYO's Jibun Techo in November 2026, and 18-month Moleskine and Erin Condren editions in July 2026.
Is the Passion Planner dated or undated?
Both. Passion Planner sells dated annual planners and undated versions in Small, Medium and Large sizes, all with 221 pages of 120 gsm paper per its specs page.
Sources
- Staples: 2027 Blue Sky 5 × 8 in Weekly & Monthly Planner, Black (model 160973; January–December 2027, flexible plastic cover, bonus October–December 2026)
- Wirecutter: Our Favorite Paper Planners (updated July 15, 2026)
- Hobonichi Japanese store: 2027 English Cousin Book (size, weight, 544 pages, 106 weekly pages, ¥4,620)
- Hobonichi Japanese store: 2027 English Original Book (size, weight, 464 pages, ¥2,860)
- Hobonichi Japanese store: Weeks 2027, White Line: Black (186 × 95 × 11 mm, about 133 g, 240 pages)
- Day Designer: 2027 Daily Planner, Black Stripe (9 × 9.75 × 1.5 in, 100 GSM, 5 am–9 pm, 2.6 lb)
- Erin Condren: Collage LifePlanner (7 × 9 in, 80 lb paper, plated aluminum coil, made in the USA)
- Passion Planner: Specs (sizes, 221 pages, 120 gsm, contents)
- Clever Fox: PRO Weekly (8.5 × 11 in, pocket, sticker sheets, ribbons, elastic)
- LEUCHTTURM1917 (DE): Wochenkalender und Notizbuch 2027 (144 pages, 80 g/m², €27.50 for the English Medium)
- Moleskine (IT): Agenda Classic 2027 Large Settimanale (70 g/m² paper, €28.00)
- KOKUYO: ジブン手帳2027 ファーストキット A5スリム (217 × 136 mm, 24-hour weekly vertical, ¥5,000 before tax)